Zodiac sign birth chart: What is my birth chart? How to read your birth chart

If you don’t relate to your star sign, taking a close look at your birth chart will make you believe in astrology. What’s known as your star sign is really called your Sun sign because it is wherever the Sun was (which constellation it was in) when you were born. So why do we think just your Sun sign matters? Your birth chart reveals the other planetary placements that impact your personality. You need to know the time you were born down to the minute to get an accurate reading.

What is my birth chart?

Look up a birth chart calculator online and enter your birth date, time, and location.

How to read your birth chart

Your birth chart is divided into twelve houses.

Your Sun, Moon, Rising sign, and each planet is located in a house and a zodiac sign.

For example, your Sun might be in Aquarius in the first house, or your Mercury in Cancer in the third house.

It can be tricky to read your birth chart as a beginner, but Express.co.uk has compiled a guide to help you through the process.

READ MORE- Love horoscope 2020: What is my soul mate’s star sign?


  • Full moon 2020: How does the lunar cycle affect YOU?

The planets

Before you read your chart, you need to understand what each of the planets reveals about you.

The Sun sign is something we already know, it’s our star sign.

Where the Sun was when you were born determines your ego, identity and role in life. Looking at your Sun sign can help to plan your career and life path

The Moon is all about your emotions, moods and feelings. If you don’t relate to your star sign, you may identify more with your Moon sign.

Mercury determines your communication style, and how you talk and think. It also reveals how you express yourself and how you learn.

Venus is the planet of love, so knowing where Venus was at your time of birth shows you how and what you love.

Mars is the God of war and planet of aggression, so the planet’s placement determines how you assert yourself and your sex life.

Jupiter is the planet of growth and abundance, so the position of this planet in your chart gives you an insight into your outlook on life and how you experience abundance in your life.

Saturn rules responsibility, structure and discipline. Its placement can show you how you handle these aspects of your life.

Uranus stays in each sign for seven years, meaning its placement impacts a generation rather than one person. It rules innovation, rebellion and progress.

Neptune stays in each sign for around 14 years, so it impacts a generation just like Uranus. Neptune is all about your dreams, imagination and the unconscious.

Pluto, like Neptune and Uranus, stays in a sign for a long period of time. It stays in each sign for up to thirty years and controls power, growth, control and intensity.

Prince William star sign: Duke of Cambridge zodiac – dates & symbol [INFORMER]
Horoscope compatibility: Which star sign are YOU most compatible with? [EXPLAINER]
Prince George star sign: Dates and symbols of zodiac sign [INSIGHT]


  • Kate Middleton star sign: Duchess of Cambridge zodiac – dates & symbol

The houses

Take a look at each house in your chart and see if there is an astrological symbol placed inside.

Note down where each planet is placed and see what sign its in because each house is ruled by a zodiac sign and a planet.

The houses determine which area of life a planet’s energy will manifest for you – from relationships to career to identity.

The first house is ruled by Mars and Aries, and it’s the location of your Rising sign or ascendant. Your Rising sign represents the mask you show to the world. It’s about your identity and personality.

The second house is ruled by Venus and Taurus, and it’s all about your values. This refers to both your finances and self-worth.

The third house is ruled by Mercury and Gemini, and it governs your thinking and communicating. It also can explain relationships with your family and friends.

The fourth house is ruled by the Moon and Cancer, so it controls your emotional foundation and your home life.

The fifth house is ruled by the Sun and Leo and refers to your inner child. It shows you how you want to play, flirt, have fun, and get creative. It’s all about self-expression.

The sixth house is governed by Virgo and Mercury and represents how you work and your health routine.

The seventh house is ruled by Venus and Libra, so will reveal how you behave in relationships – business and pleasure! It represents marriage and long term relationships.

The eighth house is often referred to as the house of death, sex ad other people’s money. It’s ruled by Scorpio and Pluto. It is all about sex, mystical practices, transformation and rebirth. It rules over sexuality, the money you might be granted after someone dies or the money you owe others. This house tells you a lot!

The ninth house is all about learning. This is Sagittarius’ area and is the home of Jupiter. How you like to study, whether you are into travelling and philosophy, and what you consider wise is governed by this house.

The tenth house controls your career, achievements and legacy. Saturn and Capricorn rule this house.

The eleventh house is about your friends and network, as well as your personal goals. What is your true inner purpose? Who is your tribe? It’s ruled by Aquarius and Uranus.

The twelfth house is the house of the unseen. It’s ruled by Neptune and Pisces and reveals your secrets. What are you hiding? What are your dreams, nightmares, what is in your subconscious?

Once you’ve got the foundations, start looking at your Rising, Sun, Moon, Venus and Mars placements.

These are what is referred to as your Inner Planets, and they impact your day to day life.

The outer planets – Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto define your life themes and experiences shared with people in your generation.

The significance of your planets is determined by the house they are in, as explained above.

You can start to apply your chart to everyday life, and it can help you to understand why you are how you are.

Source: Read Full Article