Governors Awards Move to January Amid Strikes

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ Governors awards are moving from Nov. 18 to Jan. 9 amid the ongoing WGA and SAG-AFTRA strikes.

Angela Bassett, Mel Brooks, editor Carol Littleton and the Sundance Institute’s Michelle Satter are set to be honored at the Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles. The Tuesday ceremony will take place two days after the Golden Globes.

The Governors awards is a union production, so the Academy is working with the WGA and SAG-AFTRA to monitor the situation.

The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

Satter is receiving the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, also an Oscar statuette, which is given “to an individual in the motion picture arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.”

Read More About:

Source: Read Full Article