Willy Chavarria Named Menswear Designer of the Year at the 2023 CFDA Fashion Awards

On Monday evening, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) held its annual Fashion Awards at the American Museum of Natural History. Hosted by industry darling Anne Hathaway, the event served to recognize the work of those who “champion creativity and serve as ambassadors for American fashion.”

Thom Browne, the CFDA’s chairman, welcomed the fame-filled room with opening remarks, while first courses were served across the dimly-lit museum hall. Hathaway, alongside Narciso Rodriguez, emerged onstage to announce the American Womenswear Designer of the Year: Catherine Holstein of KHAITE, who took home the trophy against fierce competition, which included Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra, Christopher John Rogers, Raul Lopez for LUAR and Tory Burch.

Next, J Balvin and Greg Lauren took to the podium to present the award for American Menswear Designer of the Year, which went to Willy Chavarria. The Fresno-born visionary was nominated for the title alongside Mike Amiri for AMIRI, Colm Dillane for KidSuper, Teddy von Ranson for TEDDY VONRANSON and Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York.

Ayo Edebiri and Prabal Gurung named Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row this year’s American Accessory Designer of the Year. The twins earned the crown over brands including Ana Khouri, Brandon Blackwood, Stuart Vevers for Coach and Raul Lopez for LUAR.

Afterwards, Charles Melton and Zac Posen bestowed Rachel Scott of Diotima with the Shop with Google American Emerging Designer of the Year award. In that category, Bach Mai, Connor McKnight, Tanner Richie and Fletcher Kasell for Tanner Fletcher and Carly Mark for Puppets And Puppets were also nominated.

A number of previously-announced awards were then presented to the audience: Kim Kardashian offered the Fashion Icon Award to Serena Williams; Demi Moore presented goop founder Gwyneth Paltrow with the Innovation Award; Vanessa Hudgens gave the Board of Directors’ Tribute to Vera Wang; Naomi Watts handed the Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard to Alina Cho, and Greta Lee named Jonathan Anderson of JW Anderson and LOEWE the International Award winner.

Outside of the trophies, the 2023 CFDA Fashion Awards also included a tribute to the 50th anniversary of hip-hop, with a film directed by Hype Williams. Presented by New Era, the visual featured Missy Elliott, LL Cool J, June Ambrose, Biz Markie and Salt-N-Pepa, with music by Pharrell.

In more fashion news, Spotify will begin dropping capsule collections with top artists on its platform.
Source: Read Full Article